By Socrates S. Saywon – The Liberty Party through its Political Leader of Liberty Party Nyonblee Kangar Lawrence has officially turned over the national chairmanship of the Collaborating Political Parties (CPP) to the Unity Party. The UP, a constituent party of the Collaboration, is headed by former Vice President Joseph Nyumah Boakai.

Mr Boakai, on Friday, 15th October, took over from Senator Nyonblee Kangar Lawrence of the Liberty Party as the new Chair for the opposition Collaborating Political Parties (CPP) as part of a two-year rotational leadership – the ceremony was held at the UP headquarters in Congo Town, Monrovia.

Before the turning over ceremony, there was a misunderstanding between the Liberty party and the Unity Party as to where the  ceremony should be held, for which the National Executive Committee of the Liberty Party wrote its Political Leader of Liberty Party Nyonblee Kangar Lawrence that the turnover should be done at the LP Headquarters, instead, of the Unity Party.

In the communication to the Unity Party, the LP chairman Musa Hassan Bility disclosed, “The official turnover ceremony marking the transition is usually held at the headquarters of the constituent party that is relinquishing authority, not at the headquarters of the incoming constituent party.”

Bility indicated in the communication that as a tradition and procedure in turning over to another CPP constituent party, consistent with Article 9.3(3) of the CPP framework document, when the LP took over from the Alternative National Congress (ANC) the process was initiated by setting up of a transition committee that worked for more than two weeks to plan and execute the transition activities before the official turnover

Further in the communication, he said it is done in this manner because the transition is not just an event but a process that includes turning over relevant documents, moving CPP billboards and flags to the party taking over.

The LP chairman said: “Madam PL, it was against the above tradition and procedures that the LP/CPP secretary-general wrote the UP on the 13 of September 2021 through its secretary-general informing UP of LP’s readiness to transition and requesting the commencement of transition meetings.’’.

He says the communication to the Unity Party was clear that the turnover ceremony was the final part of the transition and as such, the date for this ceremony needed to be discussed and agreed upon at the transition meeting, but there has been no transition committee set up as requested by the LP and both the Liberty Party and the UP have scheduled the turning program to be held at the UP headquarters.

Boakai is replacing the Political Leader of the Liberty Party, Senator Nyonblee Karnga Lawrence.

Alternative National Congress Disenchantment 

The Alternative National Congress (ANC), a constituent party of the Collaboration welcomes the Unity Party as incoming chair of the CPP, “ but did not attend the CPP turning over ceremony by Sen. Nyonblee Karnga- Lawrence.

Mr Alaxander Cummings, ANC political leader

According to the ANC, their decision stemmed from their exclusion from the planning and organization of the turnover ceremony, contrary to the practices of the CPP.

“We can no longer continue to tolerate a systematic pattern of conduct that willfully violates the established practices in the CPP,” stated Daniel Naatehn, National Chairman of the ANC.

The ANC further alleged that the program is characterized by wrongful processes, illegal profiteering, and sectarian politicization; all practices that are alien to the cherished values of the CPP.

The statement added, “The ANC will only participate in activities that are legalized within the Framework Document, which includes and binds all four parties, and will no longer be expected to ‘go along’ in good faith, as others are knee-deep in violations and bad faith actions”.

This is the second time the ANC is boycotting an activity of the Unity Party. It can be recalled that the ANC boycotted the presentation of Mr. Boakai as the Unity Party’s standard-bearer to the CPP. The ANC stated at the time that their boycott was in protest of the violation of the CPP Framework Document due to the manner in which Mr. Boakai was chosen to be the standard-bearer of the UP.

Main photo: Mr Joseph Boakai  

Related posts

Leave a Comment