lone starsSports 



Coach Peter Butler has called up twenty-three (23) players for back-to-back 2022 Qatar World Cup Qualifiers with Group C Opponents Cape Verde in Ghana on Thursday, 7 October with the correspondent fixture three days later on the island.

The list includes nineteen (19) players retained by the Brit after the first two rounds of matches in which the Lone Star secured 3 points from a possible 6 and four (4) new inclusions in the second preliminary round of the campaign.

The 55-year-old stuck with eight ( of his selections from the 2-0 friendly defeat to Egypt in Alexandria on Thursday night and recalled skipper Allen Njie from suspension.

The new inclusions are holding midfield player Seth Hellberg who makes his return to Butler’s squad after shrugging off an injury that pulled him out of the first two matches, 26-year-old winger Moussa Sanoh who plays in the Romanian Liga for Mioveni, 17-year-old Sacramento Republic striker Patrick Weah who is on loan from MLS Minnesota United, and Tony FC skipper Fredrick Dennis.

The quartet replaces Rukh Brest midfielder David Tweh, Olympiakos Nicosia striker Peter Wilson, Hatayaspor front man Mohammed Kamara and Bea Mountain defender Daniel Paye.

Sanoh, Weah, and Dennis all could be handed debuts as Lone Star try to overhaul the Super Eagles at the top of Group C on match Day 3 and 4 of the World Cup qualifiers.

Skipper Allen Njie returns to the squad after his suspension against CAR and workaholic Abu Kamara who played in the opening two matches gets a call up even though he is suspended for the first leg.

Nigeria leads the way in Group C with a 100% record from two matches and hosts the bottom team Central African Republic (CAR) on Thursday before traveling to Cameroon for the reverse fixture on Sunday.

Below is the full listing:

GOALKEEPERS: Ashley Williams (RB Linense, Spain), Tommy Songo’s (LISCR, Liberia), Morlik Keita (Mighty Barrolle, Liberia)

DEFENDERS: Prince Balde (KF Drita, Kosovo), Sampson Dweh (LPRC Oilers, Liberia), Jeremy Saygbe (RB Linense, Spain), Alvin Maccornel (Watanga, Liberia), Teah Dennis (Monrovia Club Breweries), Carlos Williams (Watanga, Liberia)

MIDFIELDERS: Seth Hellberg (IK Brage, Sweden), Ibrahim Mohammed Soumaoro (Paeek FC, Cyprus), Marcus Macauley (Sahab FC, Jordan), Oscar Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Terrence Tisdell (Kocaelispor, Turkey), Justin Paul Salmon (Degerfors IF, Sweden), Allen Njie (Aarau, Switzerland), Abu Kamara (FC Makedonijagjp, North Macedonia), Patrick Weah (Sacramento United, United States), Fredrick Dennis (Tony FC, Liberia),

FORWARDS: Kpah Sherman (Kedah FC, Malaysia), Ayouba Kosiah (NAC Breda II, Netherlands), Van-Dave Harmon (FC Laci, Albania), Moussa Sanoh (AS Mioveni, Romania)


Related posts

Leave a Comment