Liberia Lone StarsSports 

Liberia Lone Stars named 22-man squad to face Nigeria and Central African Republic


Peter James Butler after extending his contract with the Lone Star not least until August 2022, has trimmed his Lone Star squad to 22 players to compete with Nigeria and Central African Republic for Match day 1 & 2 for the second round of Qatar 2022 World Cup Qualifiers.

The squad consists of 14 oversea players, 7 players who play their club football in Liberia and Van-Dave Harmon (unattached). There are five new additions who Coach Butler could give debuts to and they include: Paeek’s FC versatile midfielder Abrahim Soumaoro who plays in Cyprus, midfielders Justin Salmon of Swedish side Degerfor IF, Abu Kamara of FC Makedonijagjp who plies his trade in North Macedonia, forwards Ayouba Kosiah of NEC Breda II in the Netherlands and Hataspor’s Mohammed Kamara.

Marcus Macauley after cutting the eye of Butler in the friendly with Saudi Arabia is retained, David Tweh of Belarusian side Rukh Brest gets a nod and the Brit’s regulars, Murphy Dorley, Allen Njie, Kpah Sherman and Ashley Williams all have a place.

Liberia are away to Nigeria for their Group C World Cup qualifiers on 3 September before hosting Central African Republic three days later.

Ayouba Kosiah of NAC Breda during the Pre Season Friendly match... News  Photo - Getty Images
Ayoba Kosiah, Lone Stars foward

Below is the complexion of the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Ashley Williams (RB Linense, Spain), Tommy Sango (LISCR, Liberia), Morlik Keita (Mighty Barrolle, Liberia)

Defenders: Prince Balde (KF Drita, Kosovo), Jeremy Saygbe (RB Linense, Spain), Alvin Maccornel (Watanga, Liberia), Sampson Dweh (LPRC Oilers, Liberia), Daniel Paye (Bea Mountain, Liberia), Teah Dennis (Monrovia Club Breweries, Liberia), Carlos Williams (Watanga, Liberia),

Midfielders: Abrahim Mohamed Soumaoro (Paeek FC, Cyprus), Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Marcus Macauley (Sahab FC, Jordan), Terrence Tisdell (Kocaelispor, Turkey), Justin Salmon (Degerfor IF, Sweden), David Tweh (Rukh Brest, Belarus), Allen Njie (FC Aarau, Switzerland), Abu Kamara (FC Makedonijagjp, North Macedonia)

Forwards: Ayouba Kosiah (NAC Breda II, Netherlands), Kpah Sherman (Kedah Darul Aman FC, Malaysia), Mohammed Kamara (Hatayspor, Turkey), and Van-Dave Harmon (unattached).

Related posts

Leave a Comment