You are here

Liberian Gov’t Eyes New National Cemetery

Gov’t Eyes New National Cemetery

MONROVIA, April 8 (LINA) – President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has appointed a National Cemetery Task Force for the establishment of a new National Cemetery.

The Task Force is also mandated to oversee successful relocation and closure of cemeteries that are full and are being desecrated across the country.

A Ministry of Internal Affairs press release said the constitution of the National Task Force on modernization and relocation of cemeteries comes in the wake of public outcry and assessments that show that some major cemeteries are in deplorable conditions.

The National Cemetery Task Force is chaired by the Ministry of Internal Affairs, while the Land Commission serves as Co-chair.

Members of the Task Force include the Ministry of Public Works, Ministry of Lands, Mines and Energy, Ministry of Information, Environmental Protection Agency, Liberia National Red Cross, Inter-religious Council of Liberia, National Council of Chiefs and Elders of Liberia and the Ministry of Finance and Development Planning serving as Ex-official.

Others are City Corporations of Monrovia, Paynesville, all 15 County capital cities, Careysburg City Mayor, Governor of the Borough of New Kru Town, and the Civil Society Council of Liberia.

The Internal Affairs Ministry notes that some major cemeteries are being used by criminals as hide-outs, adding that this violates the cultural respect that Liberians pay to their dead.

Related posts