Francis Johnson Morris Allison Leads ANC Into Midterm Elections


Monrovia – As October 14, Election Day, draws near for the 15 seats up for grabs in the Liberian Senate, the Alternative National Congress (ANC) held open primary elections, choosing candidates to run on the party’s ticket.

An ANC statement says those who won in the first eight party primaries held so far include Frances Johnson-Allison, who previously served as Liberia’s Chief Justice, Chairman of the National Elections Commission (NEC), and most recently, as Chairman of the Liberian Anti-Corruption Commission, where she fought to give the Commission autonomy from the Justice Department with respect to bringing lawsuits against officials charged with corruption. Cllr.  Johnson-Allison will be running on the ANC ticket for the Bomi, County senate seat.

ANC: Liberia’s newest political party

Winners of the primaries contesting as ANC candidates in the October Senatorial elections are as follows:

Frances Johnson-Morris, Bomi County, Simeon Taylor, Grand Cape Mount County, Daniel Naatehn, Gbarpolu County, Joseph Kpannie, Grand Kru County, William Glay, Grand Gedeh County, Stanley Kparleen, Lofa County, Stanley Numah, Margibi County, Josephus Burgess, River Cess County

The party says all of the candidates were chosen in competitive primary held in the 8 counties. ANC National Committee representatives and party officials in the various counties will conduct primaries in the other seven counties this weekend, the party statement said. Those counties are Montserrado, Maryland, Nimba, Grand Bassa, River Gee, Sinoe and Bong counties.

According to NEC regulation, senatorial candidates are only allowed to campaign from August 12 to October 12, after which campaigning will be halted and debates among the candidates will be organized.  The much anticipated election of senators will be held in all of the 15 counties simultaneously on October 14.

Culled from Frontpageafrica


Related posts